When you edit certain types of records (e.g. contacts, programs, ticket orders), Sumac locks the record so that only one person can edit it at once.
If, while the record is still being edited, Sumac is terminated or the computer crashes, the record is left locked. Later, when someone tries to edit the locked record, Sumac prevents the record from being used, thinking it is still in use.
If you are sure that no one is editing the record, a Sumac Administrator can unlock it by clicking Utilities/Sumac Administration/Unlock Records.
Before Clearing Locks on your database, watch the Clear All Locks how-to video on the Sumac website here
If you continue receiving a message saying that another user is editing the record, but no one is, contact the Sumac Support Team for further assistance (email@example.com).